“Pinspiration” – DIY I Spy Book via Pinterest

Do all of you love Pinterest as much as I do??? I mean, I definitely visit that website more than any other, especially on my iPhone while waiting at the doctor’s office, or in a school pick up line, etc! So many great ideas shared in one place… I bookmark lots of great ideas on Pinterest every day, and my number of Pinboards keeps growing.

The other day I found this Pin, about making your own I Spy Book for your kids, using their own toys! The woman who made this one did a fantastic job, and I exclaimed as I read her post, “I AM GOING TO DO THIS!!!” I knew my kids would love such a personal book to look through, containing their own toys, and it might even keep them busy on long car rides, at restaurants, etc. Very promising!

So, I got my huge roll of school variety white paper (from my mother the school teacher) and all of the baskets of toys, and got to work. The photos I made for my books are pretty easy, not too difficult for kids ages 3 to 5. But older kids would probably get bored with them. That’s my challenge with the last book I have to make for a little cousin. He’s 6, so I am going to add more photos, after I think it through a little more.

Here are some examples from my books:

DIY I Spy Book page

DIY I Spy Book Scrabble Tiles

DIY I Spy Book Cars Page 1

DIY I Spy Book Cars Page 2

 

I hope you enjoyed seeing how much fun these pages were to make, and I really hope that you go have fun making a DIY I Spy Book of your own! I can’t wait to give these to my kids… If you make one, leave a note in the comments with a link so I can see how creative you got! And be sure to click through to Delia Creates to see just how she made her books.

Erin

Leave a comment